BBQ Chicken Stuffed Grilled Cheese

1 Sep

We love grilled cheese here. But after awhile they get a little old right? I’ve seen so many posts and things about ‘gourmet’ grilled cheese sandwiches and have been craving one something bad. The other night we made a Velveeta Skillet meal and I had some leftover chicken so I thought what better way to use this than try one of those grilled cheese sandwiches that I’ve been craving. I used CreativelyDad as a test subject and it’s safe to say these are a big hit. I want to try it with pulled pork and mac and cheese next time. Well enough talking, lets get on with the food love right? These are so easy but so worth it. I love that you can use anything you have in the house to make these and solves the problem of picky eaters because not only can they help pick out their “toppings” but it’s not an extra hassle if you have things on hand (like pre-cooked meats) to throw in while the bottom layer is browning.

Ingredients:

  • Bread
  • butter
  • cheese (I used 2 slices of Kraft Cheese squares for CreativelyDad but I prefer provolone/cheddar mix in mine)
  • Meat of choice (I used Chicken)
  • Sauce (again I used BBQ)
Assembling these are easy. I butter the bottom piece of bread and place in a warm skillet (if the heat is too high the bread will burn before you get the cheese/toppings on). Next place a piece of cheese and layer your meat choice and sauce choice next. I took the back of a spoon and spread the sauce over the layer of meat as well so it was in every bite. Next add your second piece of cheese and top with the top piece of buttered bread. After that check to see if the bottom piece is browned to your liking and flip. I served these with a side of chips for myself and CreativelyDad. O wanted a side of goldfish crackers.
Don’t forget to visit XmasDolly’s Thursday Recipe SwapMeet. There are some amazing recipes I can’t wait to try out.

Leave a comment